AVO DOMAINE

AVO DOMAINE

I picked up one of the beautiful cigars a few weeks ago and finally got a chance to try it.  I love the unique shape and the burgundy/lilac colored label.  It had a velvety, tawny brown wrapper with some small veins.  The construction on this cigar was really excellent.  I lit the little nipple on the end and started enjoying the smoke.  Of course the draw was tight at first, until it burned past the “nipple” and got to a decent diameter.  It soon opened up and burned very evenly.  There was always tons of smoke present, throughout the whole length.  This cigar has a medium strength, with lots of aromatic smoke!  I didn’t detect any real spiciness, just a toasty, semi-sweet smoke with maybe some tones of chocolate or cocoa.

I started off drinking some 18 year old Glenfiddich neat, but ended up finishing the second half of the cigar with a bottle of Fat Tire, although my drink didn’t seem to affect the flavor much.  This Avo produced a dark grey ash, which held on to about 1 1/2 inches.  It kind of reminded me of a cross between a Romeo Y Julieta and a Padron, which is a good thing for me.  I like both of those cigars!  Towards the end, I felt there was a note of citrus, maybe orange?

Overall, a quality smoke with a mild-to-medium flavor, and not much spice.  This cigar had great construction and burned flawlessly, but I would be hard pressed to spend another $12 on one.  Maybe if I got a good deal on-line and could buy a few for $7 or so.

 

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment